Arizona State University has named four faculty members 2020 President’s Professors — a prestigious designation bestowed upon dozens of ASU faculty members since 2006.

This year, the four faculty members are Heather Bimonte-Nelson, a professor in behavioral neuroscience in the Department of Psychology in The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Eileen Díaz McConnell, a professor in the School of Transborder Studies, also in The College; Cynthia Lietz, a professor in the School of Social Work, an academic unit of the Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions, for which she is also a vice dean; and Ian Moulton, a professor of English and cultural history in the College of Integrative Sciences and Arts.

“It’s an honor to recognize these four outstanding colleagues who have demonstrated hard work and dedication to advancing learning and student success while maintaining robust scholarly records,” said Mark Searle, executive vice president and university provost. More than ever, it’s essential to have committed educators participating in engaging work and encouraging our learners to become the types of leaders who can change the world.”

The President’s Professor designation is one of ASU’s most prestigious faculty honors — it’s designed to reward enthusiasm and innovation in teaching, scholarly achievements and contributions and the ability to motivate and inspire students to create original works.

“ASU is a 21st-century knowledge enterprise that attracts individuals with extensive experience, highly creative minds, and the dedication as educators to advance student success,” ASU President Michael M. Crow said. “This year’s President’s Professors exemplify the highest standard of those characteristics and set the bar as the best and brightest for our university’s outstanding faculty.”

This year’s President’s Professors will be honored at a recognition ceremony at a later date.