SPRINGFIELD, IL - The USDA recently received a Secretarial disaster designation for losses caused by freezing that occurred from May 5 through May 30, 2021. USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack issued a natural disaster designation for farmers in seven Wisconsin counties, with three Illinois counties listed as contiguous counties. Contiguous counties are eligible for the same benefits as primary counties.